You need to get out.

My roommate and people living around me have been nagging me about this ever since i moved here. The five words I hear every weekend, “You need to get out”. It would usually be six words, “You need to get out MORE”…but in my case, its ’cause I do not even get out. At all. I just go to class, to eat, and back to my room. Thats my life…oh and maybe random visits to the library. Thats about it. This time it was different, since I had to get over this week. So much stress and too much to think about. My grandma also passed away two days ago [May Allah grant her the highest place in Jannah. Ameen]. Please pray for her. Thanks. So to get my mind off of everything, I decided to go for it.

Its not like I love to not get out, its just that I am not a people person. I mean, I like company with one or two people at a time. BUNCHES of people make me uncomfortable. So when ever I ask someone if they wana go with me here or there, they ask, “oh, who else is going”. I find this offensive uncalled for. I mean, wouldn’t I tell you if other persons are coming [you read this sentence correctly; the word ‘persons’ is a word. Right?]. Thing is, I would go either with a couple of people, or by myself, or not at all.

I tried to change it up this weekend, and instead of not getting out at all…I did ‘get out’. By myself. Even though I hate hate hate public transportation [thanks mom for all the rides you gave me, everywhere], I thought about it and felt like it was time I pulled my big boy pants up and headed out to see the world downtown of chicago. So I left around noon-ish and went by train. SCARY! I made it though. Thanks for worrying about me for that second.

I went to Trader Joe’s, and did food shopping! I love shopping for food. Then went to Marshall’s to look around…I walked around the area and just enjoyed my surrounding. Oh, and I got this baby:

Half original with mangos, and half Hazelnut-chocolate with chocolate chips, frozen Yogurt from Pinkberry! Alhumdulilah

Half original with mangos, and half Hazelnut-chocolate with chocolate chips, frozen Yogurt from Pinkberry! Alhumdulilah

It was so good. Then I headed back home. It was a good day, even though I was constantly reciting prayers of protection in my mind, while-during-on-and-coming-off-the train. Then one of my friends informed me of how, just yesterday or something, twelve people got shot. Yea…

Next week, I am planning on going for brunch with yours truly…myself [INSHAALLAH]. Ok, I am going to grab something to eat now. Maybe I’ll even ‘jazz it up’ tonight and sit in the balcony and watch all stars covered in haze.

Peace.

29 responses to “You need to get out.

  1. Lol today during my break I went to target by myself and bought toys. Its okay to want to do things by yourself. I’m not one for excessive interaction either.

    I’m so sorry for your loss. May Allah grant her Jannatul Firdaus. Ameen.

  2. Rest in Peace Eva’s grandmother! πŸ™‚

    I have similar problems with people as you do Eva.

    Today I have a party at church to go to and I am very anxious because I find it hard to handle crowds of people.

    I cannot use the bus or train either which is a pain, but I get extra money so I can use taxis to get where I need to go.

    Paranoid schizophrenia is no joke I’m afraid… 😦

    Hope you have a great time my friend – it’s a whole new world!!! πŸ™‚

    Love and hugs always!

    Prenin.

    • hahaha your so funny kay! yes i agree ! just so busy these days cant seem to find the time to go ‘out’ again…but i did go last weekend too…and today…grocery shopping…

      again haha

  3. Masha Allah alot have changed here since I left. Congrats for u moved to chicago. And you need to get out now really. Get me that YOGURT that u are eating in that picture !! yumxxxxx

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your grandma. I also am glad you got out – even if it was just for awhile. As humans, we need the sunshine on our skin sometimes, and of course, we need to nourish our insides as well. Your frozen yogurt looks yummy. πŸ™‚ Hope you find a smile today!

  5. May Allah grant Jannah to your grand mother and relieves sorrow for the family (Ameen).

    Good post, and good that you went out. When I was in that stage, even I used to go out alone, sometime just used to sit somewhere in the city centre and observe people around πŸ˜›

    Have fun!

  6. a bitter sweet post. First sorry to hear about your loss, as no power is greater than that of the lord – we shall all return, one day.

    As for going out, I find that when you put yourself through a unusual experience, or a uncomfortable one – it brings you out stronger from the other end. The idea here is all about getting confident in doing things never experienced before. When I was 13, my parents sent me over 300 miles away to a boarding school. My feelings were numb, but my brother (who had just gone through similar experience) told me, this type of life will make you into a better and confident person. His advice stuck to me, and indeed he was correct.

    My advice to you is to try everything you fear of, and believe the world around you will change – for the good.

    • Thanks for the condolences.

      oh yea, i read about your boarding school experience. Glad your confident now!! i feel like I have also gained from every single thing that has happened to me. And I am so thankful for that. No regrets…

      well some that were just dumb mistakes and ones that are a result from me being lazy and wasting time…blah.

      THanks for that advice…I will try to life off of it. and nice display picture here.

      bow ties are better.

    • SERIOUSLY… i need to do that more often. eh i actually been having so many sweets…and at the end of the day I try to drink two jugs of water to filter it out…but it obviously doesnt work. i need motivation…or pressure…

      or someone to force me to workout.

  7. Sorry to hear about your grandmother!

    I get what people mean by “getting out.” When you are ready, you will! Although some people do prefer being alone and occasionally enjoy the company of others.

    As for sweets… what can you do! I’m a total addict aswell πŸ™‚

    • thanks shaz. and yea i also don’t find time to do stuff…so when i do i rather spend time alone….and i know what u mean about you being an addict….two words… monday munchies. loool love your blog btw!!!

Leave a Reply....please.

