The Amazingly Edible-oh-I-can’t-get-enough Healthy Oatmeal and Chocolate Chip Cookies

I always trash talk my cooking and baking…Its not because I can’t cook/bake. Its mainly because I don’t like to when I make food or baked goods “healthy”, people in my home aka the family members, don’t eat the darn food. I usually don’t follow the instructions or the ingredient list for the matter of fact [haha ‘for the matter of fact” haha, I’ll use this in real life now]. But, this time, I did follow the directions…not so much the ingredient list. Its ’cause  I be cool like that. I fell short of the ingredients needed. Yea, so since I live in Chicago now, I was so confused on where everything was…so me being smart and stuff, I ‘thought’ we had all the ingredients, but we didn’t. Well, we kinda-sorta did have all the ingredients, but I guess i didn’t want to use them. Ok, fine, I actually was going to use them, but then while I was taking everything out to prep, I cringed and I tried to make it healthy…AND I DID. HA. 

Here’s the Original Recipe

“Chewy oatmeal cookies packed with walnuts and chocolate chips are easy to make, and your family will love the combination of flavors.”
INGREDIENTS:
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups quick-cooking oats
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture until just blended. Mix in the quick oats, walnuts, and chocolate chips. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.
3. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2014 Allrecipes.com Printed from Allrecipes.com 6/4/2014

This is how they came out after I switched up a few things: 

My midnight craving has begun. Great.

My midnight craving has begun. Great.

Looks great huh? Since I don’t usually take part in such activities like, baking or anything really haha, I had no idea what 1 cup of butter looked like…and found out its TWO STICKS. Yea so, I replaced it with 1 stick and 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt. Instead of using 3 cups of ALL-PURPOSE-BAD-FOR-YOU-FLOUR, I used 3 cups of White Whole Wheat Flour. SCORE. I used parchment paper so I don’t add excess oil/greasy to the cookies; its also easier afterwards to just pick up the whole sheet of paper and lay it onto the cooling rack instead of individually trying to transfer them. Yea, I’m lazy, but smart. Maybe. Oh, the instructions say to have them in the oven for 12 mins, but since I replaced some things, I had them in there for 14-Perfect-mins.  You can refrigerate the batter unless you plan on making all of them at the same time. WARNING: don’t make them all at once, cause ‘even a lot of a good thing is bad for you’ blah blah blah, unless you have a lot of people coming over, then its fine. You won’t be able to resist just two. Thats, why I made 12 at a time for three days, cause my family and myself included, don’t have self control over good food, even though this recipe was HEALTHY. Oh, and I did everything by hand [haha i read this over, I mean not really stirring with my hands, I used a spoon and a fork lol…but, no mixer or whisk. Yea, this is embarrassing, but I couldn’t find those things, not even the measuring spoons. I used a normal dessert spoon for the normal-person-baking teaspoon and a normal cereal spoon for a normal tablespoon. I only found the measuring cups.

Ok, Happy eating, or bingeing on these cookies, ’cause you’re too cool for my warning.

Peace!

 

21 responses to “The Amazingly Edible-oh-I-can’t-get-enough Healthy Oatmeal and Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I used to bake a lot and my God daughter’s family (mostly the kids) were round like a shot when they smelt it!!! 😛

    Well done for thinking ahead and congratulations on the result!!! 🙂

    I fondly remember my mum baking scones.

    They were the finest cookies I ever tasted!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs! 🙂

    Prenin.

  2. Can I omit walnuts, I hate them. I also use a fork for mixing, bought a whisk but the dough just gets stuck in it, soo annoying lol 🙂

  3. Haha I love this! I have to try this recipe sometime. The original looks so unhealthy and I like your replacements. Instead of sugar would you want to try something like applesauce or honey? If you check it out – let me know what you think.

    • I usually replace sugar with unsweetened apple sauce or agave nectar but didn’t have it on me. Ill let you know. Btw thanks for dropping by 🙂

  4. WOW your cookies look so yummy I just had an urge to eat them all 😛 I wish I could. The recipe looks nice with all the right ingredients. I hope it tastes well as you say 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us !

Leave a Reply....please.

