Stupid Culture

Don’t get me wrong, but being cultured is a part of becoming knowledgable and understanding different groups of people. Thats a great thing. Traveling and absorbing new cultures creates character, tolerance, and makes you kind toward humanity [at least thats the way I see it]. And then there is ‘following dumb cultural traditions’. Oh, this gets on my nerves! I hate it so much. If I know someone and I find out he or she follows a certain cultural tradition that disturbs peoples’ or an individual’s life including my own, I start disliking them slowly. A lot.

This is problematic. So, I turn to Islamic teachings and try to find out if Islam agrees on these traditions or its just stupidity passed on by generation to generation. The latter comes to conclusion most of the time. Then, I take a deep breath and confirm that I am not crazy.

One of my missions in life is to abolish the ‘people think this’ or ‘what will they say’ or ‘but thats how it is’ norm. And, I WILL NOT GIVE UP.

The hard part is when you want to potentially ‘like’ someone, but their thinking is stuck in that profound nonsense. Its so hard not to hurt their feelings. You have to take risks. I try little by little, but when they aren’t getting it, I have to talk about it face-to-my-intense-I-almost-hate-you-face.

Good luck to me.
I hope you all had a great ThanksGiving.

6 responses to “Stupid Culture

  1. Tolerance has to be taught from an early age, but culture has to develop over time.

    You ARE a cultured person in that you are tolerant, kind and generous of spirit – I could ask for no more in a friend!!! 🙂

    God Bless and enjoy life! 🙂

    Prenin.

  2. Not a big fan of the limitations of culture either. Sure, it makes us all different, but I like to separate the harm from the good.

    Very insightful post. 🙂

  3. I so agree and I so in to this as well, “One of my missions in life is to abolish the ‘people think this’ or ‘what will they say’ or ‘but thats how it is’ norm. ” People will always have opinion about what we should do or what our life should be but when problem comes, they are the fist one to run away or first one to judge, gossip or blame. I told my wife one day, “Stop thinking of what your so called friends would say. They don’t care about us. They never did. All they care is themselves. True friends emphatize with you and help you when you are down and not step on you further.” Slowly, she’s getting it too. There are certain cultural traditions that needs to stop and there are also good ones we need to keep. In the end, what our heart tell us is right and true that matters. Thanks for sharing this post. All the best to you and your family.

  4. You know, you are sounding more and more like as you would put it “grumpy person”. In any case, instead of making people face the I hate you face, be patient with them. I know it sounds so funny coming from me but I have recently found out that being patient with people makes them understand the underlying concept better than any other method. Also do remember that habits take a long time to change. Whoever goes with the whole what will society think vibe, usually has had that implanted in him or her from their childhood. You just can’t change that in fortnight. Give it time and compassion, who knows you may end up reaping a sweeter gruit than you could have imagined

Leave a Reply....please.

